Driving Under the Influence in Waco
The charge of driving under the influence (DUI) is made when people under the age of 21 (minor) drive while under the influence of alcohol. A DUI is committed when a person 20 years or younger operates a motor vehicle in a public place while having any detectable amount of alcohol in the minor’s system. Therefore, someone 18 or older can be prosecuted as an adult for DWI if intoxicated or a DUI if only impaired. If under 18, you can be still prosecuted for DUI, although Texas law prohibits the prosecution and conviction of juveniles for many offenses, legislature has made special exceptions to prosecute juveniles who drink alcohol and drive. If you are arrested for Driving While Intoxicated in McLennan County, you need a trusted advocate on your side. Whether you were arrested in Waco, Hewitt, Woodway, Bellmead, Lacy Lakeview or elsewhere in McLennan County, getting an experienced DUI defense attorney is critical for your situation.
McLennan County DUI Attorney
Intoxication is the loss of the normal use of one’s physical or mental faculties or has a blood or breath alcohol level at or above 0.08 and is in the Texas Penal Code while under the influence only deals with persons under the age of 21 under the Texas Alcoholic & Beverage Code. There is also a charge for being intoxicated in public. It is punishable by fine only; however, if a person receives deferred adjudication probation then a person can seek an expunction of the arrest and punishment.
Conviction for DUI in Waco Texas
A conviction for DWI stays on your record for life while a DUI wherein the person received deferred adjudication probation is eligible to have the arrest and punishment expunged from their criminal record. DWI includes flying, boating or operating an amusement ride. Additionally, DWI with a child younger than 15 years of age is a state jail felony. DWI has multiple implications as driver licenses may be suspended, surcharges payable to DPS, increased insurance cost and special insurance called SR-22. This may cause the need for you to get an occupational driver’s license. Even more disconcerting is the enhanced punishment upon subsequent convictions. A person with two prior DWI convictions who is arrested can be charged with a felony charge and face 2 to 10 years in state prison and a fine up to $10,000.00.
Hire a Waco Drunk Driving Attorney in McLennan County Texas
An experienced criminal defense attorney is necessary to fight these charges and help a person navigate the treacherous road and all of the pitfalls of intoxication charges. A Waco DUI attorney can help the local defendant with critical information about the local judge, jury and prosecutors. We have the local understanding required. If you need an aggressive DUI attorney in Waco, call us at 254-753-6437.
Hire a top DUI Attorney in Waco
Jim Dunnam is a Board Certified Specialist in both Civil Trial Law and Family Law.Read More
Gerald R. Villarrial
Gerald R. Villarrial has practiced family law, criminal law and civil litigation for over 20 years.Read More
Mason Dunnam is the fourth generation of Dunnam attorneys at the firm since 1925Read More